Oil-Producing States Oppose Additional Regulations - KHGI-TV/KWNB-TV/KHGI-CD-Grand Island, Kearney, Hastings

Oil-Producing States Oppose Additional Regulations

Posted: Updated:

Topeka – Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt and 12 other state attorneys general, Nebraska's among them, have asked the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency not to impose new regulations on oil-producing states without Kansas, Nebraska and other affected states being part of the discussion.

Several northeastern states are attempting to convince the EPA to impose new federal regulations on the emission of methane gases during oil production activities.

Oil-producing states argue that EPA's historical stance of avoiding further regulation is sound. They argue this regulatory decision should remain at the state level, and that if EPA is seriously considering new oilfield regulations it should at least discuss the matter with oil-producing states.

"Regulatory actions have costs and consequences, and in this case, those costs and consequences will be felt by the industries and economies in Kansas and other oil and gas producing states," Attorney General Schmidt said. "It makes no sense for federal regulators to negotiate the issues with non-producing states."

In a letter sent last week to the EPA, the attorneys general said that federal "regulation of methane emissions from oil and gas facilities is not appropriate" and that methane emissions from oil and gas facilities are being controlled "in compliance with existing regulations implemented by producing states and as a result of voluntary industry efforts."

The attorneys general asked that if the EPA disagreed, the federal government should at least include the producing states in the discussions. They also took issue with EPA data they say overstates emission levels.

"The justification for those estimates has been challenged by mounting evidence, including voluminous data and investigation of potential flaws in the statistical methodology," the letter stated.

In addition to Kansas and Nebraska, the states signing the letter are Alabama, Arizona, Indiana, Montana, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, West Virginia and Wyoming.

Untitled Document


Powered by WorldNow
General and news information or questions:
Across the Midlands Information:
Comments: comments@nebraska.tv
Phone: 308-743-2494
News Fax: 308-743-2660
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and NTV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.