New Members Selected for Ag Youth Council - KHGI-TV/KWNB-TV/KHGI-CD-Grand Island, Kearney, Hastings

New Members Selected for Ag Youth Council

Posted: Updated:

Twenty-one college-aged men and women have been selected as members of the 2013-2014 Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council.

Gov. Dave Heineman announced the names of the members Wednesday, saying the council is made up of college-aged students from around the state that exhibit and promote a passion for agriculture and educating others about the agriculture industry.

"It's an exciting time to be involved in the agricultural industry, and each of these young adults has exhibited a passion for educating others about the importance of agriculture," said Gov. Heineman. "These are the future leaders of our agricultural industry, and I am excited to see what these students accomplish during the upcoming year on the Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council."

This is the 43rd year for the council, which coordinates agricultural experiences for youth across the state. Such experiences include: visiting classrooms to discuss where food comes from, taking urban youth to see farms and what a day in the life of a farmer is like.

However, the primary focus of the NAYC is to coordinate the annual Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute, a five day conference for current high school juniors and seniors.

The 2013-2014 NAYC leaderships includes: Emma Likens, Swanton, Head Counselor; Will Miller, Culbertson, Head Counselor; Alyssa Dye, Alliance, President; Lauren Ibach, Sumner , Secretary; Samantha Schneider, Cozad, Vice President of the Communications and Social Media Committee; Trent Mastny, Howell, Vice President of the NAYI Improvement Committee; Michelle Dvoracek, Elba, Vice President of the Promotion Committee; Aksel Wiseman, Hershey, Vice President of the Sponsorship and Alumni Relations Committee; and Larissa Wach, Wauneta, Vice President of the Youth Outreach Committee.

Additional members are: Davis Behle, Kearney; Trevor DeVries, Fairfield; Johnny Ference, Ord; Steven Fish, Imperial; Hannah Gaebel, Ashland; Haley Harthoorn, Ainsworth; Jud Hoffschneider, Arlington; Toni Rasmussen, Albion; Elizabeth Rice, Murray; Railen Ripp, Kearney; Eric Wemhoff, Humphrey; and Morgan Zumpfe, Friend.

Untitled Document


Powered by WorldNow
General and news information or questions:
Across the Midlands Information:
Phone: 308-743-2494
News Fax: 308-743-2660
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and NTV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.