Several Lawmakers Sign Letter Showing Support for Keystone XL Pi - KHGI-TV/KWNB-TV/KHGI-CD-Grand Island, Kearney, Hastings

Several Lawmakers Sign Letter Showing Support for Keystone XL Pipeline

Posted: Updated:

Nearly 30 of Nebraska's state lawmakers have signed a letter of support for the Keystone XL pipeline.

Of the state's 49 state senators, 29 signed the letter to U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry.

The letter urges federal approval of the pipeline meant to carry 830,000 barrels of oil a day from Canada to refineries in the Texas Gulf Coast.

The fight over the pipeline's route through Nebraska has continued over several years and has included a recent ruling by a district judge invalidating a state law used to approve the project. However the state is appealing that decision.

Sen. Jim Smith of Papillion gathered the signatures for the letter, which was signed by 22 Republicans and seven Democrats.

The list of state senators who signed the letter includes: Jim Smith, Steve Lathrop, Mike Gloor, Russ Karpisek, Beau McCoy, John Murante, John Nelson, Galen Hadley, Bill Avery, Ken Schilz, Scott Lautenbaugh, Bill Kintner, John Harms, Dave Bloomfield, Tom Hansen, Heath Mello, Jerry Johnson, Brad Ashford, Mark Christensen, Paul Schumacher, Tommy Garrett, Tom Carlson, Al Davis, Dan Watermeier, Bob Krist, Jim Scheer, John Wightman, Burke Harr and Jeremy Nordquist.

Untitled Document


Powered by WorldNow
General and news information or questions:
Across the Midlands Information:
Phone: 308-743-2494
News Fax: 308-743-2660
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and NTV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.