Disaster Relief Available For Small Non-Farm Businesses - KHGI-TV/KWNB-TV/KHGI-CD-Grand Island, Kearney, Hastings

Disaster Relief Available For Small Non-Farm Businesses

Posted: Updated:
Disaster relief is available to small, non–farm businesses in 37 counties in Nebraska.

The Small Business Administration provides loans to small, non– farm businesses like ag cooperatives, aquaculture, and most private, nonprofit organizations. They may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million to cover losses caused by drought beginning April 1st.

"Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage," explained Tanya Garfield, director of SBA's Disaster Field Operations Center-West. 

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance. They should instead contact Farm Services Agency or the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

Eligible counties include:
  • Primary Nebraska counties:  Arthur, Blaine, Custer, Dawson, Deuel, Furnas, Garden, Garfield, Gosper, Grant, Hooker, Logan, Loup, McPherson, Phelps, Sherman, Thomas and Valley;
  • Neighboring Nebraska counties:  Brown, Buffalo, Cherry, Cheyenne, Franklin, Frontier, Greeley, Harlan, Holt, Howard, Kearney, Keith, Lincoln, Morrill, Perkins, Red Willow, Rock, Sheridan and Wheeler;
  • Neighboring Colorado county:  Sedgwick; 
  • Neighboring Kansas counties:  Decatur and Norton.
For more information, go to www.sba.gov/disaster.


Powered by WorldNow
General and news information or questions:
Across the Midlands Information:
Comments: comments@nebraska.tv
Phone: 308-743-2494
News Fax: 308-743-2660
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and NTV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.